W3vina.COM Free Wordpress Themes Joomla Templates Best Wordpress Themes Premium Wordpress Themes Top Best Wordpress Themes 2012

Voters’ registration: INEC grants two-day extension to six states


THE Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has granted a two-day extension of the Continuous Voter Registration, CVR, in six states of the Federation.

The gesture, which the commission said, excluded Adamawa State, covered only states under the third phase of the exercise.

The affected states, according to INEC, are Kano, Edo, Plateau, Ogun, Imo and Lagos states.

A short statement by Mr Kayode Idowu, the Chief Press Secretary to INEC Chairman, Prof. Attahiru Jega, explained that the CVR which commenced on Wednesday, November 12, and was scheduled to end on Monday, November 17, 2014, will now last until Wednesday, November 19, 2014.

“The Chairman of INEC, Professor Attahiru Jega, approved the extension to make up for initial challenges in the exercise and to enable as many eligible persons as possible to get registered.

“The Commission strongly admonishes against persons using the CVR to engage in multiple registration, which is a criminal offence and culprits liable to prosecution,” the statement said.
Take advantage of extension, Lagos INEC urges residents
Urging affected Lagos residents to take advantage of the extension and get listed, the Lagos INEC Public Affairs Officer, Mr. Femi Akinbiyi, however, advised residents to shun double or multiple registrations.

His words: All eligible voters whose names were not on our electronic voters’ register (EVR) should take advantage of this extension to register. Multiple registration should be avoided as this will deprive you of your right to vote in future elections.

%d bloggers like this: