W3vina.COM Free Wordpress Themes Joomla Templates Best Wordpress Themes Premium Wordpress Themes Top Best Wordpress Themes 2012

Musa, Enyeama named for Glo-CAF Awards

Lille goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama and CSKA
Moscow winger Ahmed Musa made the 25 players
list for the 2014 Glo-CAF African Player of The
Year award announced by the Confederation of
African Football on Thursday in Cairo.
The Glo-CAF Awards is scheduled for Lagos on
January 8, 2015.
Twenty-five players were nominated for the
African Player of the Year category while 20
players made the list for the Player of the Year
(Based in Africa) category.
Mamelodi Sundowns winger Ejike Uzoenyi is the
only Nigerian player shortlisted in the 20-man list
of Africa-based Player of the Year award.
Musa and Enyeama were part of the Super Eagles’
squad that won the 2013 African Nations Cup in
South Africa and also participated actively as the
Eagles reached the Round of 16 at the 2014 World
Cup in Brazil. Indeed, Musa scored twice as the
African champions lost 3-2 to Argentina in the
group stage of the competition.
Uzoenyi on the other hand made his international
debut for Nigeria in 2012. He was called up to
Nigeria’s 23-man squad for the 2013 Africa Cup of
Nations and was named to Nigeria’s squad for the
2014 African Nations Championship, where he
emerged the Most Valuable Player of the
He was also named in Nigeria’s provisional squad
for the 2014 FIFA World Cup and made the final
squad to Brazil after left-back Elderson Echiejile
copped an injury on the eve of the tournament.
Later Bafana Bafana and Kaizer Chiefs goalkeeper
Senso Meyiwa is also among the players
nominated for the African Player of the Year
(Based in Africa) category.
In picking the nominees, CAF took into
consideration the performances of the nominees
for their national teams and clubs from January
to November 2014.
Other Players shortlisted for the African Player of
the Year award include the Ghanaian duo of
Asamoah Gyan and Kwadwo Asamoah; Dame
N’doye and Sadio Mané (Senegal); Emmanuel
Adebayor (Togo); and the Cameroonian trio of
Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting, Stephane Mbia and
Vincent Aboubakar.
Others are Ivoirians Gervinho, Wilfred Bony and
Yaya Toure. Tunisians Fakhreddine Ben Youssef
and Ferdjani Sassi also made the list.
The winners of the two categories will be decided
by votes from the Head Coaches and Technical
Directors of the National Associations affiliated to
Ivorian Yaya Toure was crowned African Player of
the Year for the past three years whilst Mohamed
Aboutreika of Egypt was named African Player of
the Year (Based in Africa) last year.

%d bloggers like this: